Skip to main content

Gursky, Trudich retain leadership on council

Published January 05. 2010 05:00PM

Tamaqua Borough Council opened its reorganizational meeting with a moment of silence for long time borough employee Richard Skasko, who passed away unexpectedly on December 21. "He will be missed," noted Mayor Christian Morrison.

Not much will change on borough council with the exception of newcomer David Mace.

Micah Gursky and John Trudich were retained in their positions of president and vice-president, respectively, and Steve Tertel was appointed to fill the position of president pro tem. Gursky, Trudich, and Morrison were re-elected in the November election. Mace replaces Cathy Miorelli. All four were administered the oath of office by District Judge Stephen Bayer.

Prior to swearing them in, Bayer jokingly compared their terms to sentences that he hands down. "This is four years of hard community service," he said. Tom Cara, Brian Connely and Ken Smulligan are the other three members of council.

Council also made the following re-appointments:

-Randolph Gormley and Judy Hadesty R.N, to the Board of Health

-Linda Yulanavage and Mark Conville, RA, to the Historic Architectural Review Commission (HARC)

-John Steele and Steve Tertel to the Employee Pension Committee

-John Trudich to the Eastern Schuylkill Recreation Commission

-Karl Smulligan, to the Eastern Schuylkill Planning Commission

Council will continue to meet on the first and third Tuesdays of each month at 7:30 p.m. Gursky did note that if there is no voting business for the first meeting, it will be cancelled and only the second meeting of the month will be held.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


November 2017


Upcoming Events

Twitter Feed

Reader Photo Galleries