Skip to main content

Twelve teachers to retire

Published April 22. 2010 05:00PM

The Tamaqua Area School District has accepted letters of intent to retire from 12 teachers, effective at the end of the current 2009-2010 school year.

The district's board of education officially approved the retirements at its monthly meeting Tuesday evening.

Most of the retirees are elementary teachers, including Susan Bonner, Deborah L. Davies, Rosemarie Derr, Rochelle P. Evanousky, Darlene J. Fetterman, Carolyn L. Fisher, Nancy Jones and Sally A. Novack.

Additionally, elementary librarian Mary Jane Vitanovec is retiring, as well as speech teachers Barbara J. Boretsky and Diane Perbetsky and middle school teacher Gail A. Zahora.

In other personnel business, the board retained Eric Lech as Classrooms For the Future Coach for 2010-2011. Lech was also rehired as the high school's boys and girls swimming and diving coach.

Jay Daubert was rehired as high school head varsity boys basketball coach. Donna Kohut was approved as a volunteer coach with the girls soccer program.

The following were added to the district's guest teacher list for next year: Amy Krall, New Ringgold, retroactive to March 13; Daniel Bechtel, Pottsville; Bradley Moran, Ringtown; Michael Sterner, Schuylkill Haven; John Fowler, Mahanoy City; and Lisa Frederick, New Ringgold.

Mary Ann Kopp, Tamaqua, was approved as a substitute custodian.

Megan Hales and Kyle Berezwick were added as adult game workers.

Karen Mateyak was approved as a volunteer math tutor.

Emily J. Daubert was given professional status after three years of service with satisfactory ratings each quarter, retroactive to Jan. 20.

Pamela Zelinsky was approved as a mentor for Kristen Sander, elementary special education teacher, at a stipend of $550.

Samantha Yachera, middle school teacher, was approved for an unpaid leave of absence for April 1.

The resignation of Kimberly Feisel, part-time professional, was accepted, effective April 1.

Computers purchased

In other business, the board approved the purchase of 33 Dell Inspiron Notebook computers from CDI Computer Dealers, Inc., Markham, Ontario, Canada. The total cost is $20,034 and is funded by IDEA using ARRA funds. The vendor is a state contract company through the PEPP/CoStar program.

The board also approved Health and Welfare Trust rates for the 2010-11 fiscal year, including an increase to the administration fee paid to the trust, from 75 cents per employee per month to $1 per employee per month, effective July 1. The Health and Welfare Trust rates includes a two percent COBRA increase.

The district will once again donate $8 per student towards the purchase of tickets for eligible students to attend the annual achievement dinner on May 17.

The Tax Collection Committee was authorized to include collection of the district's share of the EMS/OPT tax in the request for proposal for services, beginning Jan. 1, 2012.

The tax collector's audit reports for Tamaqua Borough and Rush, Schuylkill, Walker and West Penn Townships for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2009.

Trips approved

The request of Jonathan Rodgers, drama club director, to take the club on an educational trip to New York City on April 28 was approved.

Business manager Connie Ligenza was authorized to attend the ASBO National Conference in Lake Buena Vista, Florida, from Sept. 24-27, with funds coming from PA Pact.

Homebound instruction for one student was approved.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


November 2017


Upcoming Events

Twitter Feed

Reader Photo Galleries