Skip to main content

Nesquehoning VFW Ladies Auxiliary meeting

Published April 20. 2010 05:00PM

The regular monthly meeting of the VFW Ladies Auxiliary to Post 8008 was held Tuesday, April 13, with President Cathy Sommers presiding.

Information on the Department of Pennsylvania annual convention, which will be held in Gettysburg June 16-19 was received. Information on the awards ceremony for the Panther Valley JROTC, which will be held May 12, was also read. The auxiliary will present an award for Military Excellence at the awards ceremony.

The annual Loyalty Day Program will be held at the post home on Saturday, May 1, beginning at 6 p.m. Loyalty Day, sponsored by the post and auxiliary, is a reaffirmation of the belief in America and loyalty to this country. The public is invited to attend. Auxiliary members are requested to bring a dessert item for the social hour following the program.

A Miller bloodmobile collection will be held at the post on Wednesday, April 21.

The annual Buddy Poppy Program will run during the month of May. Poppies are always available at the post home. On the weekend of May 7-9, post and auxiliary members will be at Redner's to promote the program. Patriotic bows will also be available at that time. The sign up sheet for the Poppy Queen and her Court is posted at the post home.

The 61st Anniversary Dinner will be held April 22, at Macaluso's, beginning at 6 p.m.

The annual Easter Egg Hunt was held on March 27 and was very successful.

District 20 will conduct its annual convention on Sunday, May 16; Bangor Post and Auxiliary will host the meeting.

A donation was made for the Department President's "Love Gift" at the convention.

Nomination and election of officers for 2010-2011 were held. Those elected to fill the top offices are as follows: president, Amanda Breiner; senior vice president, Cathy Sommers; junior vice president, Carol Malatak; treasurer, Maureen Hirochek; chaplain, Ellen Driesbach; conductress, Anne Paulakovich; guard, Brenda Smellowsky; and three-year trustee, Mary Arieta.

Tillie Lakata will automatically move to two-year trustee, as will Missy Hascher to one-year trustee.

Appointed officers and committee chairmen will be announced by the newly-elected incoming president at the May meeting.

The next meeting will be held at 6:30 p.m. on Tuesday, May 11 at the post home.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2017


Upcoming Events

Twitter Feed

Reader Photo Galleries