Skip to main content

Race for seats on Tamaqua school board

Published October 27. 2009 05:00PM

Next Tuesday's General Elecdtion has a race for seats on the Tamaqua Area School Board. Following is a rundown of all school board races in the TIMES NEWS coverage area.

Tamaqua Area

There are four, four year term seats up for election to the Tamaqua board with six candidates on the ballot.

Leading the race are Thomas Rottet and Mark Rother since the two got both party nominations in the primary election.

The other hopefuls are Republicans Bryan W. Miller and Aaron R. Frantz facing off against Democrats Tracy A. Perry and Jeffrey Swinehart.

Mahanoy Area

In the Mahanoy Area School District there are four seats up, four year terms, with just four names on the ballot. Julie J. Fazio, Mary Agnes DiCasimirro and C. Sullivan Coleman, all got both nominations and are joined on the ballot by Republican Sharon Trusky.

There also is a two year seat up for election to the board. No one got either party nomination in the primary so a write-in candidate will probably end up with the position.

Blue Mountain

In the Blue Mountain School District there are four seats, four year terms, up for election and four candidates captured both party nominations in the primary.

Those winners were Edward A. Guistwite Jr., Gerald Ravitz, Thomas Wehr and Mary Jo Sandler Moss.

Hazleton Area

Voters in McAdoo and Kline Township vote for Hazleton Area School District board seats.

There are four to be elected, four year terms, with four candidates capturing both nominations in the primary and are the only names on the ballot.

The candidates are Steven Hahn, Bob Mehalick, Carmella Yenkevich and Clarence H. John.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2017


Twitter Feed

Reader Photo Galleries