Skip to main content

Lansford elects a new mayor

Published November 04. 2009 05:00PM

Two incumbent councilmen in the Panther Valley area went down in defeat in Tuesday's General Election balloting in that area.

Meanwhile, Nesquehoning Mayor K. Tony Walck won re-election, as did Mayor Paul R. McArdle of Summit Hill, while Lansford selected a new mayor.

Lansford Borough

The new Lansford Mayor will be Ronald B. Hood Jr., a Republican who won the four-year term to succeed Joseph Horvat, who did not seek re-election. Hood won over Democrat George T. Bottomley by a difference of 489 to 172.

Councilman Dwight A. Penberth lost his seat during a four-person race for three four-year terms. Winning the seats were Democrats Leonard Kovach and Danielle Smith and Republican Adam C. Webber. Kovach, an incumbent, received 432 voted, followed by Smith with 384 and Webber with 343. Penberth trailed with 303.

Tax Collector Daniel J. Wynn, a Democrat, was unopposed. He appeared on both ballots and received 657 votes in being re-elected to another four-year term.

For the two-year term on council, there was only one candidate. Democrat Robert S. Hackash received 539 token votes. Bottomly was unchallenged for the six-year term as constable and received 413 complimentary votes.

No one ran for the two-year term as assessor in the borough.

Other vote totals for poll positions in Lansford included:

District 23 - Democrat Kevin A. Collevechio, 263, for judge of elections; and Republican Frances C. Barno, 254, for inspector of elections.

District 24 - Democrat Sandra Delpero, 162, for judge of elections; and Republican Doreen Giordano, 136, for inspector of elections.

District 25 - Democrat Lena Dominic, 159, for judge of elections.


Mayor Walck scored a 511 to 359 win over Republican Michael R. Frey to be re-elected to another four-year term. Democratic Tax Collector Patricia R. Vito also sought re-election to another four-year term and was unopposed, collecting 770 token votes.

In the council race, there were three four-year terms up for grabs. Losing out was Councilman Donato P. DeMarco.

The winners were newcomer Mary A. Fox, a Democrat who topped the ballot with 637 votes, and incumbents, Republican David A. Hawk, who finished second with 548 votes, and Democrat Rose Sniscak Walck, who finished third with 487. DeMarco followed with 431 votes.

In a race for a two-year term on the council, Republican Richard Zabroski won over Democrat Salvatore A. Digiglio by a margin of 505 to 349.

Other vote totals for poll positions in Nesquehoning included:

District 41 - Democrat Elaine Greek, 354, for judge of elections; and Republican Jo Ann Cox, 220, and Democrat Marion Tyahla, 185, for inspector of elections.

District 42 - Democrat Mary Alice Jacobs, 375, for judge of elections; and Republican Anna Kmetz, 220, and Democrat Elizabeth A. Morgans, 214, for inspector of elections.

Summit Hill Borough

For the first time on a long time, there were no races in Summit Hill Borough. Six candidates, all Democrats, were unopposed.

Mayor Paul R. McArdle and Tax Collector Alice Kane sought re-election to four-year terms, as did Constable Jude Yuricheck. McArdle received 745 token votes, Kane, 760, and Yuricheck, 608.

In the race for borough council, newcomer William H. Chapman was the top vote-recipient with 626, followed by incumbent councilmen John O'Gurek, 624, and Harry C. Miller Jr., 613.

Other vote totals for poll positions in Summit Hill included:

District 52 - Democrat Sheryl Ann Radocha, 196, for judge of elections; and Democrat Barbara Ann Shelton, 176, and Republican Christine Forrest, 47, for inspector of elections.

District 53 - Democrat Joseph J. O'Gurek, 201, for judge of elections; and Democrat Aurelia DeMatto, 145, and Republican Marie Dunn, 72, for inspector of elections.

District 54 - Democrat Faith L. Masayda, 179, for judge of elections; and Democrat James Kozuch, 128, and Republican Susan Colancecco, 91, for inspector of elections.

District 55 - Republican Mary Ann Sterner, 112, for judge of elections; and Democrat Teresa M. Grosso, 130, for inspector of elections.

Panther ValleySchool Board

There was essentially one race for a four-year term on the Panther Valley School District Board of Education, where three candidates seeking four four-year terms appeared on both ballots.

The race came down to incumbent Ronald P. Slivka running as the Democratic candidate and newcomer Irene A. Genther challenging from the GOP side. Genther won the position by a final tally of 1,589 to 1,424. She won in Carbon County by a margin of 1,224 to 1,181 over Slivka, and a difference of 365 to 243 in balloting down in Coaldale in Schuylkill County.

The three others who were assured victory included newcomer Koreen M. Nalesnik, who was the top vote-getter with 2,101 votes, including 1,708 in the Carbon municipalities, and incumbents Anthony Pondish and David B. Hiles. Pondish finished with 1,875, including 1,533 in Carbon County, while Hiles' total was 1,555, including 1,294 in Carbon County.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2017


Twitter Feed

Reader Photo Galleries