Skip to main content

Wittig to head Tamaqua board

  • Larry A. Wittig
    Larry A. Wittig
Published December 02. 2009 05:00PM

The Tamaqua Area School District Board of Education held its organization meeting for 2010 Tuesday evening and once again elected incumbent Larry A. Wittig as president.

Wittig has been president of the school directors since December 1995, the year he first won election to the board. Wittig, board secretary Robert W. Betz and treasurer Daniel E. Schoener have remained on the board since that year.

Wittig was the only director nominated for the position by the board.

Dr. Thomas Rottet will continue as the board's vice president. Like Wittig, he was the lone person nominated.

The board welcomed two new members. Aaron Frantz was present at the session and was sworn in by Rottet, who served as temporary president during the reorganization and administered the oath of office.

Mark Rother, the other new member, was absent due to a work commitment and will be sworn in at a special meeting on Tuesday, Dec. 8 at 6:30 p.m., prior to the board's committee meetings.

Frantz and Rother replace retiring directors Glenn C. Behr and Janie C. Miller, who did not seek re-election. Their four-year terms will expire in December 2013, as will those of Rottet and Brian W. Miller, both of whom were re-elected in November.

The remaining board members, which includes Wittig, Betz, Schoener, Eileen Meiser and Wanda Zuber, will have their terms expire in December 2011.

Wittig also appointed the board's committees for 2010.

Rottet will once again chair the auxiliary committee, which also includes Brian Miller and Rother, the latter replacing Behr.

The education committee will remain the same, with Zuber serving as chair and Wittig and Meiser as members.

Schoener will continue as chair of the finance committee, which includes Betz and Frantz, who is replacing Janie Miller.

Meiser will once again chair the hearing committee, which meets periodically when disciplinary hearings for students are scheduled. Wittig and Rother will also serve on the committee, with Betz and Zuber as alternates.

The uniform committee will be chaired by Schoener and also includes Rottet and Zuber.

Rottet will serve as the board's representative to the health and welfare trust and will continue to represent the school district on the Eastern Schuylkill Recreation Commission, along with Michael Hromyak, the district's director of athletics.

Betz will serve as the districts's Legislative Awareness liaison, as well as the board's representative for the Pennsylvania School Board Association, Schuylkill Intermediate Unit 29 and the Tamaqua Public Library board of trustees.

The board's auxiliary, education and committee meetings will be held once again on the second Tuesday of each month at 7 p.m., while regular monthly meetings will continue on the third Tuesday at 7:30 p.m.

All board meetings are held in the Large Group Instruction (LGI) Room of Tamaqua Area Middle School and are open to the public.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2017


Upcoming Events

Twitter Feed

Reader Photo Galleries