Skip to main content

Seven NL players on CL Football first team

Published December 02. 2009 05:00PM

The All-Colonial League Football Team has been announced with seven Northern Lehigh Bulldog first team selections, including a pair of two-way first team players. Palmerton garnered the only other area first team player.

The Bulldogs finished second place to Wilson during the season and just one behind the Warriors in first team selections.

They were led by Junior rusher Cody Remaley whose 2,000-yard season placed him in the first-team backfield.

Leading the way for Remaley were two-way first team senior linemen Brandon Mohrey (OT/DE) and Christian Freudenberger (G/DT). Senior Andy Hoch joined them as the second team center.

Defensively, Matt Gill (LB) and Jake Kern (DB) joined Mohrey and Freudenberger on the first team.

Although Palmerton had an off-year in the win column, several players stood out. Joe Weber (DE) earned a slot on the first team defense with his efforts this season as well as a second team Punter. Junior linebacker Levi Serfass was also a second team selection for the Bombers.

Unheralded all season, the Northwestern defense gave up just over 12 points per game in 2009. Although there were no first team selections, seniors Ryan Betts (DE), Mike Oswald (LB), Garrett Lerner (LB), and Junior Tony Wargo (DL) received second team honors. On offense, Wargo (T) and Jaryd Karpyn (G) also received second team honors.


Center- Jeff Briedinger, (sr. Wilson)

Guard- Christian Fruedenberger, (sr. No. Lehigh), Kevin Cameron (sr. So. Lehigh)

Tackle- Matt Lippincott (sr. Wilson) Brandon Mohrey (sr. No. Lehigh)

Tight End- Tony David (sr. Salisbury)

Wide Reciever- Kowan Scott (jr. Wilson) Jeff Smillie (jr. So. Lehigh)

Quarterback- Tyler Smith (sr. Wilson)

Running back- Cody Remaley (jr. No. Lehigh), Scott LaValva (jr. Bangor) Dylan Evans (so. Pen Argyl)

Kicker- Chris Rodriguez (sr. Wilson)


Center-Andy Hoch (sr. No. Lehigh)

Guard-Zack Kades (sr. Wilson) Jaryd Karpyn (sr. Northwestern)

Tackle- Tony Wargo (jr. Northwestern), Alastair Ponzol (sr. Palisades)

Tight End-John Lynn (sr. Catasauqua)

Wide Receiver- Brian Cooper (sr. Wilson), Josh Parris (jr. Palisades)

Quarterback- Corey Sroka (sr. So. Lehigh)

Running back- James Stanell, (sr. Palisades), Colby Kent, (sr. So. Lehigh), Tyrell Colbert (sr. Salisbury)

Kicker-Tucker Sandercock (sr. Saucon Valley)


Center-Adam Luybil (sr. Saucon Valley), Wayne McNichol (sr. Palisades), Dan Ortwein (jr. So. Lehigh), Shelby Storm (jr. Northwestern), Dylan Haklar (jr. Catasauqua)

Guard-Tyler Black (sr. Salisbury), Grant Olson (sr. Palisades), Nick Oblas (sr. Saucon Valley), Eric VanArsdale (sr. So. Lehigh), Jesse Sulzer (sr. Northwestern), Asher Meckes (sr. Bangor), Skyler Carr (jr. Palisades), Jeff Gallagher (jr. Catasauqua), Nils Larson (jr. Wilson)

Tackle- Mike Altorfer (sr. Bangor), David Givler (jr. So.Lehigh), John Roam (sr. So. Lehigh), Curtis Garner (sr. Catasauqua), Cory Hahn (sr. Catasauqua), Nick Hartman (sr. No. Lehigh), Justin Taylor (sr. Saucon Valley), Stephen Bubenko (sr. Salisbury), Zach Dotter (sr. Palmerton)

Tight End-Aaron Green (sr. Notre Dame), Ryan Betz (sr. Northwestern), Joe Seremula (sr. No. Lehigh), Mike Buresh (jr. No. Lehigh), Jason Okken (jr. Saucon Valley), Sam Terlingo (jr. So. Lehigh), Ryan Fraunfelter (jr. Bangor)

Wide Receiver-Garrett Lerner (jr. Northwestern), Chris Litzenberger (jr. Catasauqua); Steve Yost, (sr. Catasauqua), Jake Kovatch (sr. Salisbury); Joe Wagner (jr. Pen Argyl), Chris Marcin (jr. Palmerton), Josh Wing (so. Bangor)

Quarterback- Brandon Lesko (sr. Catasauqua), Adam Hardy (sr. Palisades), Nick Edmondson (sr. Saucon Valley), Justin Todora (jr. Salisbury) Nathan Hood (sr. Pen Argyl)

Running back-Colton Breininger (sr. Northwestern), Mike Oswald (sr. Northwestern) Terrell Drayton (sr. Saucon Valley) Matt Ehrets (sr. Salisbury), Ray Mosby (sr. Wilson), George Vaught (sr. Notre Dame), Alex Parker (jr. Wilson), Brandon Shuck (jr. Saucon Valley), Luke Gotzon (jr. So. Lehigh), Matt Gill (jr. No. Lehigh)

Kicker-T.J. Miller (sr. Catasauqua), Sam Terlingo (jr. So. Lehigh), Mike McClintock, (jr. Palisades)


Line- Francis Roscioli, (sr. Wilson), Matt Lippincott, (sr. Wilson), Christian Freudenberger (sr. No. Lehigh)

DE/OLB- Joe Weber (sr. Palmerton), Brandon Mohrey (sr. No. Lehigh)

Linebacker- Tony David (sr. Salisbury), Matt Gill (jr. No. Lehigh), Kevin Cameron (sr. So. Lehigh), Ian Gimbar (jr. Saucon Valley)

Defensive Back- Ray Mosby (sr. Wilson), Jake Kern (jr. No. Lehigh), Brandon Lesko (sr. Catasauqua)

Punter - Tucker Sandercock (sr. Saucon Valley)


Line- Stephen Bubenko (sr. Salisbury), Tony Wargo (jr. Northwestern); Kenny Zurbano (sr. Saucon Valley)

DE/OLB- Ryan Betz (sr. Northwestern), Curtis Garner (sr. Catasauqua), Nate Falko (sr. Catasauqua), Jason Okken (jr. Saucon Valley)

Linebacker- Nick Szmodis (sr. Wilson), Mike Oswald (sr. Northwestern), Garrett Lerner (sr. Northwestern), Levi Serfass (jr. Palmerton), Matt Spink (sr. Pen Argyl)

Defensive Back- Corey Sroka (sr. So. Lehigh), Dylan Anderson (sr. So. Lehigh), Dylan Evans (so. Pen Argyl), Chris Litzenberger (sr. Catasauqua), Josh Parris (jr. Palisades), Scott LaValva (Jr. Bangor)

Punter- Joe Weber (sr. Palmerton)


Line-Jeff Breidinger (sr. Wilson), Asher Meckes (sr. Bangor), Nick Hartman (sr. No. Lehigh), Wayne McNichol (sr. Palisades), Alastair Ponzol (sr. Palisades), Dan Ressler (sr. Catasauqua), Cory Hahn (sr. Catasauqua), David Givler (jr. So. Lehigh), Garrick Borascius (sr. So. Lehigh), Andrew Miller (so. Notre Dame)

DE/OLB- Osei Wilson (sr. Wilson), Matt Ehrets (sr. Salisbury), Justin Taylor (sr. Saucon Valley), Hunter Grol (sr. No. Lehigh), Joe Seremula (sr. No. Lehigh), Skyler Carr (jr. Palisades), Josh LaBarre (sr. So. Lehigh), Zach Miller (so. Pen Argyl), Toby Koenig (sr. Northwestern)

Linebacker- Kirk Bender (so. No. Lehigh), Nick Boyd (Sr. Northwestern), Colton Breininger (sr. Northwestern), Ryan Fraunfelter (jr. Bangor), Rich Green (sr. Bangor), Tim Vicario (fr. Bangor), Andrew Muretta (jr. Wilson), Chris Rahs (sr. Saucon Valley), Will Hess (sr. Palisades), John Lynn (sr. Catasauqua), Nick Chernobyl (jr. Catasauqua), Ray Durkin (jr. So. Lehigh), Hunter Johnson (sr. So. Lehigh), Tyler Horn (so. Pen Argyl), Phil Racciato (Pen Argyl sr. Pen Argyl)

Defensive Back- Travis Labyak (jr. Palmerton), Brendan Monahan (sr. Wilson), Alex Parker (jr. Wilson), Jake Kovach (sr. Salisbury, Ryan Kelly (jr. Salisbury), Terrell Drayton (sr. Daucon Valley), Keith Okken (sr. Saucon Valley), Tyler Bolton (sr. No. Lehigh), James Stanell (sr. Palisades), Colby Kent (sr. So. Lehigh), Kevin Oxley (sr. Northwestern), Trevor German (sr. Northwestern), Ian Champagne (sr. Bangor), Zac Groner (sr. Notre Dame)

Punter- Brian Cooper (sr. Wilson), Chad Heidecker (jr. Salisbury), Joe Seremula (sr. No. Lehigh), Dan Ressler (sr. Catasauqua), Garrett Lerner (sr. Northwestern), Mike Mc Clintock (jr. Palisades)

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2017


Upcoming Events

Twitter Feed


Faith Alive UMC hosts ‘Revival on Purpose!’

40.804927, -75.656958

Faith Alive UMC, 678...

Pumpkin social in Tamaqua

40.7986307, -75.9683447

Zion Lutheran Church...

Feed the People hosts Halloween celebration

40.830215, -75.88356

Feed the People is h...

STEP-Up Tamaqua to meet Monday

40.798347, -75.970851

STEP-Up Tamaqua will...

Reader Photo Galleries