Jason Gormley of Schuylkill Township was named the first chairman of the newly-formed Eastern Schuylkill Recreation Commission, during a meeting held in the Schuylkill Township Municipal Building, Mary-D. The commission is an intermunicipal cooperative initiative involving Tamaqua, West Penn Township, Walker Township, and Schuylkill Township. Rush Township declined to participate. Pat Stefanek of Tamaqua is vice chairman; Mike Hromyak is secretary, and Bryan Miller of West Penn Township is treasurer.