They've distanced themselves from the pack because of their work inside the classroom.

As a result, the supreme scholars who were initiated into the Palmerton National Junior Honor Society found themselves in select company.

In all, two dozen students took part in the induction ceremony held recently in the high school auditorium, which commenced with a prelude and processional given by junior high school music instructor Ken Mettam.

After the Pledge of Allegiance was performed, junior high school Principal Paula Husar welcomed the students.

A candle lighting ceremony followed, with Scholarship, John Iles; Service, Alyssa Olewine; Leadership, Garrett Perschy; Character, Hailey Muniz; and Citizenship, Mercedes Melo.

Brad Landis, NJHS Advisor, continued with the induction ceremony, at which time 24 students were initiated. The oath was given by Kody Kolnik, president of the NJHS.

Jessica Pereira, president of Palmerton Area High School's National Honor Society, gave the address to the new members. Landis then offered closing remarks.

The Alma Mater was led by Lauren Fegley and Madeline Zelienka. The program wrapped up with the recessional.

Students that were inducted into the NJHS include: Nicole Andress, Tasia Biege, Jonathan Blichar, Cole Buck, Kayla Bumberger, Austin Debski, Allison Dugan, Emily Dugan, Lauren Fegley, Nathan Goodhile, John Iles, Candis Keck, Kristen Keiper, Kody Kolnik, Mercedes Melo, Hailey Muniz, Alyssa Olewine, Garrett Perschy, Alanna Shivone, Makayla Smale, Emily Smith, Joseph Suto, Jacob Taylor and Madeline Zelienka.

The 2012-13 NJHS Officers are Kolnik, president; Taylor, vice president; Fegley, treasurer; and Shivone, secretary.