Patti Weiss has been working at the Western Pocono Community Library in Brodheadsville for 10 years. As the Circulation Desk Manager/Cataloging Manager/Youth Manager, she is on a crusade to find ways to "reintroduce" the library to the community and bring awareness to the public about how special and fun libraries are.

"Many of the folks living in this area are not even aware that we are here. Shocking, but true, so we want to get our name out there again, and see if we can reach a few of those folks who may not realize that it is 'Cool' to be in a library," she says.

Thus, a Flash Mob.

A Flash Mob is a group of people who assemble suddenly in a public place, perform an unusual and seemingly pointless act for a brief time, then disperse, often for the purposes of entertainment, satire, and artistic expression.

"It will show that the library is keeping up with the times and we are a fun bunch. There will be an event going on at the time and the Flash Mob will 'interrupt' that event," she says.

The Flash Mob will last a little over three minutes.

"We will be dancing to the song 'Eye of the Tiger'," says Patti.

In order to make this as exciting as possible, she is looking for as many volunteers as she can get to be a part of the Flash Mob.

"Please keep in mind that the choreography will be simple and fun. The dance is not difficult, but repetition is always the best teacher. We will have a link available on YouTube with the dance steps, if you want to learn at home," she says.

There are several rehearsal opportunities and you do not need to attend all of the rehearsals. The final three are mandatory, simply because she will need to have your spots figured into the dance and make sure everyone is good to go.

The library will open 15 minutes before rehearsal time and will be locked during rehearsals because the library itself will be closed.

The first rehearsal will be Friday, June 1 at 7 p.m.

If you have any questions please contact Pattie at 570-992-7934 or wpcl6@ptd.net [1].

Western Pocono Community Library is located at 2000 Pilgrim Way, Rt. 115, Brodheadsville, across from Pleasant Valley Middle School.

Here are the rehearsal start times: Friday, June 1, 7 p.m.; Friday, June 8, 7 p.m.; Tuesday, June 12, 7 p.m.; Sunday, June 17, 12 p.m.; Tuesday, June 19, 7 p.m.; Sunday, June 24, 12 p.m.; Tuesday, June 26, 7 p.m.; Sunday, July 1, 12 p.m.; Tuesday, July 3, 7 p.m.; Sunday, July 8, 12 p.m.; Tuesday, July 10, 7 p.m.; Sunday, July 15, 12 p.m.; Tuesday, July 17, 7 p.m.; Saturday, July 21, 4:30 p.m.; Tuesday, July 24, 7 p.m.; Saturday, July 28, 4:30 p.m. MANDATORY: Tuesday, July 31, 7 p.m.; Saturday, Aug. 4, 4:30 p.m.; Tuesday, Aug. 7, 7 p.m.