Despite the presence of five new school directors, Palmerton Area School Board will continue to be run by an incumbent.

Even as it sported a distinctly different look, the board unanimously reappointed Director Barry Scherer as board president at Tuesday's reorganizational meeting.

Scherer was nominated for board president by Director Chuck Myers, who took over as board vice president after he was nominated for that post by Director Darlene Yeakel.

Upon his reappointment, Scherer thanked his constituents for their continued support.

"I'd like to thank my fellow board members; there's an awful lot of work that goes on behind the scenes," Scherer said. "We're going to disagree from time to time, but if we agree to agree to disagree, we'll be fine."

Scherer mentioned a new teacher's contract, as well as the 2012-13 budget as the two biggest tasks the board will be faced with.

New directors that were sworn in by District Judge Bruce Appleton of Palmerton were Josann Harry, Charles Gildner, Tammy Recker, Sherry Haas and Joshua Smale.

Afterward, Yeakel heaped praise on Appleton, who will retire from the position he has held for over 25 years.

"The board would like to congratulate you on your retirement, and for your years of service to the board and community," Yeakel said.

Also as part of its reorganization, Scherer handed out a sheet that listed board of director committee appointments.

Myers (chairperson), Scherer, Susan Debski and Harry will serve on the Negotiations & Grievance Committee; with Yeakel (chairperson), Gildner, Recker and Haas on the Policy Committee.

Yeakel will serve as Carbon Career & Technical Institute board representative, with Smale as the alternate representative; Myers will serve as CLIU 21 board representative; and Audrey Larvey as Lehigh Carbon Community College board representative.

Debski will serve as Palmerton Area Library board representative; Yeakel as Legislation/PSBA Liaison; Gildner as Safety Committee board representative, with Scherer as the alternate.

Debski will serve as board treasurer; Thomas G. Schmidt on the Carbon Career & Technical Institute Authority; and Superintendent Carol Boyce as primary voting delegate on the Carbon County Tax Collection Committee, with Haas as first alternate voting delegate.

Lastly, the board approved the 2012 calendar of regular monthly meetings and special meetings/board workshop meetings.

The board will continue to hold its regularly scheduled meetings at 7 p.m. on the third Tuesday of each month.

Special meetings/board workshops will continue be held at 5:30 p.m. on the first Tuesday of each month; except for March, when it will be held on the second Tuesday of the month, and in July and December, when no special meetings/board workshops are scheduled.