Hilbert Haas was announced "Citizen of the Year" by the Lehighton Chamber of Commerce. The award was presented to him by president John Angelo during the 19th annual awards dinner. Other award recipients were Darryl Arner, Businessman of the Year; Paul R. Smith, Educator of the Year; Harold Sthare, Volunteer of the Year; and Franklin Elementary School, Volunteer Group of the Year. Former Chamber President Kenneth Leffler was presented with a clock in recognition of his achievements as president.