Carbon County Conservation District, Carbon/Monroe Farm Service Agency, Carbon/Monroe Natural Resource Conservation Service and Penn State Cooperative Extension combined forces to host their annual awards banquet this week at the Mahoning Valley Ambulance building.

Danadee Miller-Boyle of the Carbon/Monroe Farm Service Agency/Luzerne Farm Service Agency, served as master of ceremonies.

After a meal served by the Mahoning Valley Ambulance staff, Katherine Bond, daughter of Kenneth and Lee Bond, was given the Rachel W. Hoffmeier 4-H Scholarship award by Georgia Farrow, 4-H assistant for Penn State Cooperative Extension. Bond, a senior Jim Thorpe Area High School and a member of the Carbon County 4-H Livestock Club, intends to become a middle school teacher.

Established as a memorial to Rachel W. Hoffmeier, a former Extension Home Economist, the award recognizes a 4-H member who is interested in self-improvement.

Two 4-H leaders, Kay Gilbert and Sandra Palinchak, both of Lehighton, were presented the Outstanding 4-H Leader awards.

Also honored with Years of Service awards were Robert L. Miller, 55 years; Kay Gilbert and Kelly Wentz Hook, both of Lehighton, 20 years; Debra Fritz of Lehighton, 10 years; Marcus Weber, Danielsville; and Teresa Livingston of Lehighton, five years.

One year awards were presented to Elizabeth Fronheiser of Palmerton, Robert Frycklund of Lehighton, Kimberly Kormala of Aquashicola and Amanda Miller of Lehighton.

Carbon County Conservation District honored James J. Clauser with the Professional Service Award in recognition of 21 years of service as the district manager. Also recognized with a 15-year service award was James J. Carroll, a board member and chairman of the board.

The Carbon County Environmental Education Center also had their own awards to present. The CCEEC staff, Frank Klock, Susan Gallagher and Jeannie Carl recognized Kenny and Rhonda Herring as the 2010 Volunteer of the Year for "willingness to share time and expertise on behalf of CCEEC," while Alyssa Keiper and Matt Dunn were both recognized with the 2010 Friend of CCEEC awards.

Keiper was recognized for "reminding us there is value and dignity to be found in every animal and in every person, while Dunn was recognized "in appreciation for his many hours of service, given gladly and generously, to Christmas tree recycling."

Also honored with a Prosper Service Award was Howard Gregory of Weatherly. The award was presented by Farrow of Penn State Cooperative Extension.

Also recognized were Dana Beisel and Dennis Cunfer of Lehighton, outgoing Penn State Extension Board members, and Amanda Yenser of Palmerton. New extension board members are Dr. Justin Cunfer, Amy Hillanbrand and Kay Gilbert of Lehighton.

Emma Boyle of Andreas and Luke Graver of Lehighton, outgoing 4-H Development Committee members, were also recognized. New 4-H Development Committee members are Katherine Bond of Jim Thorpe and Aubin Sevrin of Lehighton.

Master Gardener Volunteer Awards were presented to Slate Altenburg of Tamaqua, Maryann Serafini, Julie Foley, both of Albrightsville and John Kupec of Summit Hill.

Adele Argot, nutrition education adviser, presented a Certificate of Appreciation to Daisy Valdez of Jim Thorpe. Argot remarked that Valdez "does so much for my students in the workforce development program."