A newly elected school director has been put in charge of Palmerton Area School Board.

The board on a 5-4 vote at its reorganizational meeting on Monday appointed newcomer Barry Scherer as president.

Directors Michael Ballard, Darlene Yeakel, Clarence Meyers, Susan Debski and Scherer voted in favor. Directors Carl Bieling, Carol Dwyer, Stuart Henritzy and Tina Snyder were opposed.

For its vice president, the board reappointed Henritzy on a 7-2 vote, with Scherer and Ballard opposed.

Newly elected board members are Scherer, Debski and Meyers.

The board will continue to meet at 7 p.m. on the third Tuesday of each month.