Saturday, December 20, 2014
     

Panther Valley

Friday, April 16, 2010

JROTC

The Panther Valley JROTC will hold a meeting on Wednesday, April 21 at 6 p.m. in the classroom of the high school.

Nesquehoning

Lions Club

The members of the Nesquehoning Lions Club will hold a meeting on Tuesday, May 3 at 6:30 p.m. at the club building. There will be no dinner at this meeting.

Free dinner

The free community dinner will be held on Wednesday, April 28 at the Meed's United Methodist Church from 5-7 p.m. The menu will be barbecue chicken, mashed potatoes, and baked beans. All are invited.

OMEGA

Tuesday, April 13, 2010

VFW auxiliary

The next regular meeting of the VFW Post 8008 auxiliary will be held today, Tuesday, April 13 at 6:30 p.m., at the post home.

Nomination and election of officers for 2010-2011 will be held. All members are encouraged to attend.

Food pantry

Meed's Methodist Church will host the monthly food pantry on Thursday, April 15, from 1-3:30 p.m.

Monday, April 12, 2010

Since the Nesquehoning garbage truck broke down, garbage will not be collected on Monday and Tuesday. Please do not put garbage outside until Wednesday, Thursday and Friday.

Monday, April 12, 2010

Summit Hill

Hydrant flushing

The Summit Hill Water Authority will be flushing fire hydrants from Monday through Friday, April 12-16.

Residents may experience low water pressure or slight water discoloration during the process.

Borough council

The monthly meeting of the Summit Hill Borough Council will be held on Tuesday, March 13, at 7 p.m. in the borough hall. Joseph Weber, president, will be in charge of the session.

Food distribution

Friday, April 9, 2010

Summit Hill

Borough council

The monthly meeting of the Summit Hill Borough Council will be held on Tuesday, March 13, at 7 p.m. in the borough hall. Joseph Weber, president, will be in charge of the session.

Shade Tree plans

The Summit Hill Shade Tree Commission will be conducting its annual Arbor Day planting of memorial trees on Saturday, April 24.

The ceremony will take place at 9 a.m. in Memorial Park, adjacent to the post office.

Friday, April 9, 2010

Nesquehoning

Democratic meeting

The Nesquehoning Democratic Club meeting will be held on Sunday, April 11 at 6 p.m. at the Nesquehoning Lions building.

All committee people are asked to attend and make plans for the upcoming election.

Summit Hill

Borough council

The monthly meeting of the Summit Hill Borough Council will be held on Tuesday, March 13, at 7 p.m. in the borough hall. Joseph Weber, president, will be in charge of the session.

Shade Tree plans

Thursday, April 8, 2010

Nesquehoning

Zion Lutheran Church

Morning worship begins Sunday at 9 a.m. The Rev. John Hazel is pastor. Visitors are always welcome.

Rev. Hazel will be on vacation April 5 through April 11. The Rev. Marjorie Keiter will be available for pastoral concerns, (570) 645-0356.

The next coffee hour will be held on Sunday, April 18, immediately following the morning worship service.

Church council will meet on Saturday, April 17 at 6 p.m.

Summit Hill

Spring cleanup

Wednesday, April 7, 2010

Lions Club

The Coaldale Lions Club will meet on Tuesday, April 13 and also on Tuesday, April 27. The April 27 meeting will be a joint Lions fellowship meeting, hosted by the Coaldale Lions, who will be welcoming the Summit Hill Lions and the Tamaqua Lions.

Both meetings will be at the Viennese Villa and will start at 5:45 p.m.

President Robert Ames will be presiding.

Monday, April 5, 2010

In Afghanistan

CDR. Joseph E. Strauss, the son of Paul and JoAnn Strauss of Hauto, has been deployed to Kandahar, Afghanistan.

He is the head orthopedic doctor in charge of the surgeries and taking care of the wounded soldiers.

His address is CDR. Joseph E. Strauss, NATO Role 3, MMU, APO-AE 09355.

Friday, April 2, 2010

St. Katharine Drexel

The blessing of Easter baskets will take place at St. Katharine Drexel Catholic Church, Lansford, on Saturday, April 3, beginning at noon.

The parish's Easter vigil will be held on Saturday at 8 p.m.

Easter Sunday Masses will be celebrated on Sunday, April 4, at 8 and 10:30 a.m.

Memorial Mass