Saturday, July 12, 2014
     

Panther Valley

Thursday, March 13, 2014

Coaldale

First Congregational Church

Morning worship will be held at 9 a.m. Sunday, March 16, at First Congregational Church, Coaldale, followed by Sunday School at 10 a.m.

The Women's Class will meet at 7 p.m. Tuesday, March 18, with installation of new officers.

Lenten Service will be held at 7 p.m. Wednesday, March 19, followed by choir rehearsal.

On Sunday, March 24, morning worship will be at 9 a.m. and Sunday School, at 10 a.m.

Wednesday, March 12, 2014

Community Lenten Service

A Community Lenten Service will be held at 7 p.m. Wednesday, March 12 at Hope of Christ Presbyterian Church, 44 W. White St., Summit Hill. A soup supper will be served before the service at 6:15.

Everyone is welcome.

In case of inclement weather, please call 570-645-2360 to confirm service will be held.

Friday, March 7, 2014

Coaldale

First Congregational Church

Morning worship will be held at First Congregational Church, Coaldale, at 9 a.m. Sunday, March 9, followed by Sunday School at 10 a.m. The church board will meet at 7 p.m. Monday, March 10.

Lenten Services will be conducted at 7 p.m. Wednesday, March 12, followed by choir rehearsal.

Golden Agers

The Panther Valley Golden Agers will meet at 1 p.m. March 10 at St. John's Slovak Lutheran Church Social Hall, weather permitting.

Members are asked to wear green to celebrate St. Patrick's Day.

Wednesday, March 5, 2014

Lansford

St. John's Ash Wednesday service

A special Ash Wednesday service at St. John the Evangelist Lutheran Church, 1 E. Abbott St., Lansford, will be held at 7 o'clock this evening with Holy Communion and (optional) imposition of ashes.

Bible study and Holden Evening Prayer service will resume after Easter.

Nesquehoning

VFW Ladies Auxiliary

The next regular meeting of the Ladies Auxiliary to Nesquehoning Memorial VFW Post 8008 will be held on Tuesday, March 11 at 1 p.m.

Members should note the time change for the next several meetings.

Wednesday, February 26, 2014

Lansford

St. John's Lutheran

St. John's Lutheran Church, Lansford, Wednesday evening supper, Bible study, and worship is canceled for this week.

Next week the 7 p.m. service will be the Ash Wednesday service and open to all who wish to begin Lent with worship.

For more information please call the Rev. Marjorie Keiter at 570-273-4038.

Nesquehoning

Woman's club to meet

Friday, February 21, 2014

Golden Agers

The meeting of the Panther Valley Golden Agers scheduled for Monday, Feb. 24 will be canceled due to weather conditions and lack of parking.

Public library news

The preschool story hour will start up again at the Panther Valley Public Library beginning Tuesday, March 11 at 9:30 a.m. This will be a weekly event held every Tuesday.

The library is offering income tax preparation assistance on Thursdays by appointment. This will continue every Thursday until the April deadline.

Thursday, February 20, 2014

Summit Hill

Food pantry

Food distribution dates for the Summit Hill Food Pantry are as follows:

Ÿ Tuesdays, Feb. 25, Mar. 25, Apr. 15, May 27, June 24, July 22, Aug. 26, Sept. 23 and Oct. 28

Ÿ Mondays, Nov. 24 and Dec. 22

The food pantry is located in the Summit Hill Heritage Center on Hazard and Chestnut streets.

Distribution will take place between 10-11:30 a.m.

There is to be no parking in the alley prior to 9:45 a.m. and absolutely no parking in the vacant lot.

Recipients are reminded to bring along extra strong shopping/tote bags.

Wednesday, February 12, 2014

Lansford

St. John Lutheran

Tonight at 7 o'clock St. John's Lutheran Church, 1 E. Abbott St., Lansford, will hold an informal worship: a spiritual, peaceful evening service with Holy Communion.

All are welcome to this relaxed, brief musical evening prayer.

For those who wish to come early, a free simple supper is served at 6 p.m., followed by a brief adult Bible study at 6:30 p.m.

Wednesday, February 5, 2014

Panther Valley

PV Senior Center

Here's a list of upcoming activities during the month of February at the Panther Valley Senior Center, 90 E. Catawissa St., Nesquehoning.

All activities begin at 11 a.m. unless otherwise noted.

Ÿ Thursday, Feb. 6: Scattergories

Ÿ Friday, Feb. 7: Name That Tune

Ÿ Monday, Feb. 10: Trivia

Ÿ Tuesday, Feb. 11: Outburst, Sunshine meeting

Ÿ Wednesday, Feb. 12: Birthdays and bingo

Ÿ Thursday, Feb. 13: Penny game, party prep

Ÿ Friday, Feb. 14: Valentine's Day party at 10:30 a.m.

Thursday, January 30, 2014

Summit Hill

St. Paul's Lutheran Church

St. Paul's Lutheran Church, 123 W. White St., will hold its monthly youth activity Saturday at 2 p.m. with a magic show presented by Dave Wargo. All are invited.

Souper Bowl Sunday to benefit the Summit Hill food pantry will be held Feb. 2. A special free will offering will be taken for the pantry.

The Worship & Music committee meeting will be held immediately following the worship service on Sunday, Feb. 9. Church council will meet at 7 p.m. on Tuesday, Feb. 11.