Saturday, December 20, 2014
     

Panther Valley

Wednesday, February 12, 2014

Lansford

St. John Lutheran

Tonight at 7 o'clock St. John's Lutheran Church, 1 E. Abbott St., Lansford, will hold an informal worship: a spiritual, peaceful evening service with Holy Communion.

All are welcome to this relaxed, brief musical evening prayer.

For those who wish to come early, a free simple supper is served at 6 p.m., followed by a brief adult Bible study at 6:30 p.m.

Wednesday, February 5, 2014

Panther Valley

PV Senior Center

Here's a list of upcoming activities during the month of February at the Panther Valley Senior Center, 90 E. Catawissa St., Nesquehoning.

All activities begin at 11 a.m. unless otherwise noted.

Ÿ Thursday, Feb. 6: Scattergories

Ÿ Friday, Feb. 7: Name That Tune

Ÿ Monday, Feb. 10: Trivia

Ÿ Tuesday, Feb. 11: Outburst, Sunshine meeting

Ÿ Wednesday, Feb. 12: Birthdays and bingo

Ÿ Thursday, Feb. 13: Penny game, party prep

Ÿ Friday, Feb. 14: Valentine's Day party at 10:30 a.m.

Thursday, January 30, 2014

Summit Hill

St. Paul's Lutheran Church

St. Paul's Lutheran Church, 123 W. White St., will hold its monthly youth activity Saturday at 2 p.m. with a magic show presented by Dave Wargo. All are invited.

Souper Bowl Sunday to benefit the Summit Hill food pantry will be held Feb. 2. A special free will offering will be taken for the pantry.

The Worship & Music committee meeting will be held immediately following the worship service on Sunday, Feb. 9. Church council will meet at 7 p.m. on Tuesday, Feb. 11.

Friday, January 24, 2014

Coaldale

Lions meeting rescheduled

The Coaldale Lions will meet at 5:45 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 28 at the Viennese Villa, 201 W. Ruddle St., Coaldale.

Bob Ames, club president, will preside at the meeting.

Panther Valley

Golden Agers

The Jan. 13 meeting of the Panther Valley Golden Agers was attended by 30 members.

The meeting began with a prayer and the club song. Sue Dopira led the group singing.

Frank Karnish gave his report on upcoming trips for the year of 2014. President Irene Hudasky gave a report on future events.

Thursday, January 23, 2014

Coaldale

First Congregational Church

Morning Worship will be conducted at 9 a.m. Sunday, Jan. 26, at First Congregational Church, West Ruddle Street, followed by Sunday School at 10 a.m.

The church board will meet at 7 p.m. Monday, Jan. 27, at the church.

On Sunday, Feb. 2, Morning Worship will take place at 9 a.m. and Sunday School at 10 a.m.

The nursing home ministry group will visit St. Luke's-Miners, Coaldale, at 11 a.m. and MapleShade, Nesquehoning, at 1:30 p.m., both on Wednesday, Feb. 5.

Wednesday, January 22, 2014

Panther Valley

Tax help at PV library

The Panther Valley Public Library will offer assistance in preparing income tax forms 1040A and 1040EZ forms and PA state tax returns beginning Feb 6.

This service will be offered at the library, 117 E. Bertsch St., Lansford on Thursdays from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. for seniors aged 60 and older. Donations to support the library will be accepted.

Other interested individuals will be assisted on Thursday evenings from 5-7 p.m. A fee will be charged for these services with all proceeds to benefit the library.

Friday, January 17, 2014

Panther Valley

Senior center

The following list includes upcoming activities for the month of January at the Panther Valley Senior Center, 90 E. Catawissa St., Nesquehoning.

All activities begin at 11 a.m. unless otherwise noted.

Ÿ Monday, Jan. 20: Outburst

Ÿ Tuesday, Jan. 21: Rummy tournament at 10:30 a.m.

Ÿ Wednesday, Jan. 22: Family Feud

Ÿ Thursday, Jan. 23: Penny game

Ÿ Friday, Jan. 24: Pay Bingo

Ÿ Monday, Jan. 27: Bean bags

Ÿ Tuesday, Jan. 28: Wii tournament ends

Ÿ Wednesday, Jan. 29: Pay Bingo

Wednesday, January 8, 2014

Panther Valley

Golden Agers

The Panther Valley Golden Agers will meet on Monday, Jan. 13 at the St. John Slovak Lutheran Church, 1 E. Abbott St., Lansford, weather permitting. Bingo is scheduled to be played.

Members celebrating birthdays September through December will be honored. Dues for 2014 are being collected now through April.

The next meeting is scheduled for Monday, Jan. 27 weather permitting.

Summit Hill

St. Paul's Lutheran

Thursday, January 2, 2014

Panther Valley

PV Senior Center

The following are a listing of upcoming activities during the month of January at the Panther Valley Senior Center, 90 E. Catawissa St., Nesquehoning.

All activities begin at 11 a.m. unless otherwise noted.

Thursday, Jan. 2: Scattergories and Wii Bowling

Friday, Jan. 3: Bingo

Monday, Jan 6: Name That Tune

Tuesday, Jan. 7: Minute to Win it

Wednesday, Jan. 8: Pay Bingo

Thursday, Jan. 9: Wii dancing

Thursday, December 19, 2013

Lansford

Trinity Lutheran

On Sunday, Dec. 22 at Trinity Lutheran Church, 104 E. Abbott St., Lansford, the morning worship service will be held at 9:30 a.m.

The Christmas Eve candlelight service of Holy Communion will be held at 8 p.m. on Tuesday, Dec. 24

The Rev. Roy H. Koehler will preside at both services. All are welcome.

Coaldale

Coaldale

First Congregational Church

Morning Worship be held at 9 a.m. Sunday, Dec. 22, at First Congregational Church, Coaldale, followed by Sunday School at 10 a.m.