Wednesday, June 3, 2015
     

Palmerton - Lehighton

Thursday, October 27, 2011

Toys for Tots registration

Schuylkill-Carbon Marine Corps League will hold 2011 registration for Toys for Tots from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. on Friday, Nov. 11 and Saturday, Nov. 12; Friday, Nov. 18 and Saturday, Nov. 18; and Friday, Dec. 2 and Saturday, Dec. 3; and Friday, Dec. 9 and Saturday, Dec. 10 at Salem Bible Fellowship Church, 1105 Frederick's Grove Road, Lehighton. This is the only location for registration. No phone calls will be accepted.

Parents or guardians who want to register children for toys must register in person on one of the dates listed above.

Thursday, October 27, 2011

Concourse Club

The Palmerton Concourse Club will meet at 7 p.m., Thursday, Nov. 3, at Holy Trinity Lutheran Church, 502 Lafayette Ave., Palmerton. The program for the evening will be "All American Artisans in Women's Fashions," presented by Marianne Monteleone Design.

Anyone interested in joining this service club is asked to call Joan Turko at (610) 826-2716 for more information.

Bloodmobile at PAHS

Miller-Keystone Blood Center will conduct a blood drive for Palmerton Area High School students and staff on Monday, Nov. 7, from 8 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.

Thursday, October 20, 2011

Five-year reunion

The Lehighton High School Class of 2006 will be holding a five-year class reunion on Saturday, Nov. 26, at the Lehighton American Legion.

Information on the following class members is being sought: Emily Ahner, Jason Clouser, Erin Druckenmiller, Jeffrey Hosier, Katrina Wilmer, Devin Andrew, Aaron Shuey, Bernarda Nieto, Joseph Neff, Alyssa Yochum, Brooke Muffley, Joseph Liverpool and Jesse Reiss.

Wednesday, October 19, 2011

Old FashionedHay Ride and Fall Fest

An Old Fashioned Hay Ride and Fall Fest will take place from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Sunday, Oct. 23 at the Lehigh Canal Park in Weissport. The event features hay rides along the canal towpath and homemade food, pumpkin patch and children's activities. Special accommodations are available for those in need. The event is sponsored by the Beltzville Lions Club, Lehigh Canal Recreation Commission, Walnutport Canal Association and L-TNT Pyrotechs Inc.

Beltzville Lions to meet

Wednesday, October 19, 2011

Bloodmobile results

For the first time in several Miller-Keystone Blood Center community blood drives in Palmerton, the goal of 75 registered potential donors fell short, as only 70 people donated. In all, 68 units of blood were collected.

Friday, October 14, 2011

AMVETS to meet

Lehighton AMVETS, Elwood Miller Post 106, will meet at 3 p.m. Sunday, Oct. 17 at the Lehighton V.F.W.

Thursday, October 13, 2011

Trick or Treat nights

Parryville, Weissport, Lehighton and Franklin Township will hold Trick or Treat night from 6-8 p.m. Wednesday Oct. 26.

Please leave your porch lights on for the Trick or Treaters.

Wednesday, October 12, 2011

Halloween parade

The 20th annual Palmerton Halloween Parade will be held Sunday, Oct. 16 at 4 p.m. The rain date is Monday, Oct. 17, at 7 p.m.

The parade will form at Seventh and Delaware avenues, as well as the 600 and 700 blocks of Franklin Avenue, and Lafayette Avenue. The parade route will be Delaware Avenue to Third Street, turning right on Third Street to Franklin Avenue, then turning left on Franklin to Second Street, taking Second Street to Lafayette Avenue and traveling Lafayette Avenue back to Seventh Street, where it will disband.

Wednesday, October 5, 2011

Zoning officer hours

The Lehighton Zoning Officer's new part-time hours will be Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday from 12:30-4:30 p.m.

For your convenience, call (610) 377-4002 prior to coming to the office.

LALLC to meet

Lehighton Area Lioness Lions Club will meet at 6 p.m. Thursday, Oct. 6, at the Carbon Career and Technical Institute. District Governor Scott Dudley will be visiting. In addition, the club will present checks to the Lehighton Pool Pals, fire company, library and police.

Members are encouraged to invite a guest to attend.

Wednesday, October 5, 2011

Miller Bloodmobile

Miller-Keystone Blood Center will conduct its regular bimonthly bloodmobile at the First United Church of Christ's Fellowship Hall (next to borough hall) on Wednesday, Oct. 12.

Registration hours are 11:30 a.m. to 2 p.m., and 3-5:30 p.m. This visit is sponsored by DeSousa Oil & Service.

In addition to the reserved parking on Delaware Avenue, off-street parking will be available at Penn Northeast (both sides of the building), by permission of the owners.