Saturday, April 19, 2014
     

Northern Lehigh

Wednesday, July 28, 2010

Slatington Moose

The Slatington Moose Club will have a Tommy Moose presentation at 7 p.m. tonight (Wednesday).

As part of the program, the club gives dolls away to the fire companies. The firefighters then give the dolls to young children to help comfort them.

Wednesday, July 14, 2010

Slatington Crime Watch

The next meeting of the Slatington Crime Watch will be held at 7 p.m. on Thursday, July 15, at Slatington Borough Hall.

At that time, the group will discuss current happenings in the borough, as well as the Community Yard Sale, scheduled for Sept. 25, and other upcoming events.

Check out the Facebook page for the latest updates.

Friday, July 9, 2010

Slatington Public Library

Geraldine Schafer and her students have created an undersea world in the front window of the Slatington Public Library, complete with mermaids and sand castles.

The Wonderful World of Wildlife summer program will begin on Wednesday, June 30, at 10 a.m., and will run for seven weeks during the summer. Children ages 3 to grade 5 are welcome. There is no fee. The program is sponsored by the Lehigh Gap Nature Center. All are welcome.

Wednesday, June 30, 2010

Slatedale banners news conference

Northern Lehigh Future Focus (NLFF), a Slatington based community visioning group serving the Northern Lehigh area, will hold a news conference and banner unveiling on Tuesday, July 6, beginning at 10 a.m. in the front lawn of the Salem United Methodist Church, 4019 Main Street, Slatedale.

The press conference and unveiling will introduce the new Slatedale banners, which will be hung on light poles throughout the village of Slatedale.

In the event of inclement weather, the press conference/unveiling will be held inside the church.

Wednesday, June 16, 2010

Northern Lehigh High School graduation

Commencement exercises for the Northern Lehigh High School Class of 2010 will be held at 7 p.m. Friday at Bulldog Stadium.

Slatington Crime Watch

The Slatington Crime Watch will meet at 7 p.m. Thursday at the borough hall.

Wednesday, June 9, 2010

Heritage Day Program

A July 4 Heritage Day Program will be held in the Baptist Church in Slatington at 10 a.m. Saturday, July 3.

If you are interested and can attend, choral rehearsals will be held in the sanctuary of the Baptist Church on Tuesday, June 15; Thursday, June 17; Tuesday, June 22; Thursday, June 24; Tuesday, June 29; and Thursday, July 1 at 7 p.m.

They will warm up in the Baptist Church at 9 a.m. on Saturday, July 3.

Please make an effort to support your community program. All singers are welcome.

Thursday, June 3, 2010

Walnutport Centennial

On Thursday, July 1, at 6:30 p.m, the dedication of a time capsule, filled with Centennial and current event memorabilia, will take place at the main entrance to the Walnutport Borough Hall on Lincoln Avenue in Walnutport.

In addition, a glass showcase, which will display Centennial memorabilia in the borough hall vestibule, will be dedicated.

The showcase was donated by the Walnutport Centennial Committee and the Northern Lehigh Future Focus.

All interested area residents are invited to attend.

Slatington Lions Club

Wednesday, May 26, 2010

Northern Lehigh School District

School will be in session in the Northern Lehigh School District on Friday, May 28, as a snow make up day.

The last elementary student day has been changed to Friday, June 18.

Running of the Dawgs

The 10th Anniversary of the Northern Lehigh Education Foundation Running of the Dawgs will be held on Saturday, June 5, at the Northern Lehigh Athletic Stadium, 1 Bulldog Lane, Slatington.

Saturday, May 22, 2010

Northern Lehigh School District will accept applications to fill a vacant seat on the school board until 3 p.m. June 4.

Wednesday, May 19, 2010

Pennsylvania Dutch Culture

Pennsylvania Dutch Culture will be the topic of a lecture by Paul Kunkel, a local linguist and expert on Pennsylvania Dutch dialect and customs.

The talk will be held on Tuesday, June 1, at the Walnutport Canal Association's Pavilion, 420 Lehigh St., Walnutport, beginning at 7 p.m.

Kunkel will present an overview of the Pennsylvania Dutch dialect, traditions, myths and superstitions.

The highlight of the evening will be Kunkel sharing common Pennsylvania Dutch idioms, expressions and jokes.