The firm that coordinates waste collection and disposal at one area school district has stepped forward in support of education.

On Monday, a representative of Waste Management Inc., Lancaster, donated $3,500 to the Tamaqua Blue Raider Foundation.

"It's a privilege we're able to do this. We like to see the funds go to where it'll do the most good," said Brian Fuhrman, Waste Management's major account manager.

Fuhrman met Monday with attorney Jeffrey Bowe, foundation secretary, and Carol Makuta, school superintendent.

The funds will be channeled through the foundation and applied to eligible initiatives per parameters of the Education Improvement Tax Credit program and under guidelines of the state Department of Community and Economic Development.

There is a good possibility the money will be applied to the field of technology, Makuta said.

"Something like the e-readers we purchased last year," she said, offering an example of how the funds can be applied in a way that meets eligibility guidelines.

Fuhrman said Waste Management's philanthropic program has been in existence for many years.

The Blue Raider Foundation is a 501(c) 3 corporation formed in 2009 to support, promote, sponsor and carry out educational, scientific and charitable activities and objectives related to the school district.

It was privately established to assist the Tamaqua Area School District in funding projects that fall outside of the school district budget. Acting autonomously, the foundation enlists individuals, corporations and foundations in charitable resource-raising activities to assist students to achieve maximum potential.

No tax dollars are involved with the foundation.

The group is intended to supplement the district and not replace other fundraising organizations, such as athletic and band boosters. It is also not an affiliate of the school board or the district's administration but operates independently.

Other board members of the all-volunteer group are: Robert Miller III, president; Walter Kruczek, vice president; Eric Zizelmann, treasurer; Stephanie Akins, Dr. Joanne Calabrese, state Rep. Jerry Knowles, Deborah C. Yuskauska and Dr. Kathryn Kropp, members at large; and Johanna Ulicny, executive director.

For more information,