Although the 2014 Primary Election is a state and federal election in which voters cast their ballots for nominations for Pennsylvania governor, senator and state representative and U.S. House of Representatives positions, the Democratic and Republican parties in Carbon County will elect committeemen and committeewomen to represent them on the local level.

Voting will take place from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Tuesday, May 20, in each of the 51 election precincts of Carbon County's 23 municipalities.

Each of the parties have different sets of bylaws.

The Democratic Party rules call for one committeeman and one committeewoman to be elected in each of the districts, for a total of 102 representatives.

The Republican Party rules call for committee persons to be elected on an at-large basis with a designated amount of representatives in each municipality, as follows: 16 in Penn Forest Township; eight each in Towamensing and Franklin townships; seven each in Lehighton, Jim Thorpe and Palmerton boroughs and Mahoning Township; five in East Penn Township; four each in Lansford, Nesquehoning, Summit Hill and Weatherly boroughs and Lower Towamensing Township; three each in Kidder Township South and Packer Township; and two each in Banks, Lausanne and Lehigh townships, Kidder Township North and Beaver Meadows, Bowmanstown, East Side, Parryville and Weissport boroughs. The GOP has 109 committee positions to be filled.

When voters go to the polls for the Primary balloting, they will see a shortage of candidates for these position, or no candidates in some precincts, since not enough persons filed nominating petitions to get their names placed on the ballots.

The Democrats have 59 candidates and the Republicans have 19 candidates. None have opposition.

The Democratic candidates are:

Joseph J. Bodnar Jr. and Irene Makowiec, Banks Township.

Kara Scott, Bowmanstown Borough.

Albert Holczman, District 8, East Penn Township.

Terry J. Whiteman, District 12, and Katherine Hosler, District 13, Franklin Township.

Patrick D. Crowley and Edith Lukasevich, District 14, Eugene Nalesnik, District 15, Richard C. Mason and Anne C. Mason, District 16, Benjamin L. Walbert III and Carole J. Wildoner-Walbert, District 17, and Ronald J. Sheehan and Patricia Herman, District 18, Jim Thorpe Borough.

Edward Dorman and Donna Valent, District 23, Leonard M. Sniscak and Kara Sue Krajnak, District 24, and Terrance P. McCall and Jacqueline Mitchell, District 25, Lansford Borough.

Robert Tissier and Barbara A. Tissier, Lehigh Township.

Tibor Torok, District 28, Christine Eubanks, District 29, and Carol B. O'Brien, District 29, Lehighton Borough.

Bernard Mendez and Dorothy Mendez, District 32, and Brett A. Peters and Sandra L. Peters, District 33, Lower Towamensing Township.

John J. Wieczorek, District 35, Sue Ann Lewine, District 36, and Michelle L. Heckman, District 38, Mahoning Township.

Earl Titus and Michele Titus, Packer Township.

Jeremy Barbosa, District 47, Christopher D. Olivia and Frances A. Carazo, District 48, and Stuart R. Henritzy and Lorraine Wertman, District 49, Palmerton Borough.

Dale Walck, Parryville Borough.

Jeremy Haloskie, District 51-2, and Joann M. Behrens, District 51-5, Penn Forest Township.

Michael Crampsie and Candice Gimbor, District 52, Delores J. McAndrew and Brian J. Dolena, District 53, William J. O'Gurek Jr. and Jennilee Kosciolek, District 54, and Robert F. Gigliotti and Deborah J. Gigliotti, District 55, Summit Hill Borough.

Roy Christman and Linda Christman, District 56, and Andrew C. Nosti and Kristen T. Nosti, District 57-2, Towamensing Township.

Arnold R. Selert and Mildred Selert, District 58, and Barbara M. Sipler, District 61, Weatherly Borough.

Duane E. Watson, Weissport Borough.

The Republican candidates are:

Kay Becker and Lee Becker, East Penn Township.

Ryan Behler, Frank L. Tamburri, Pamela Behler and Gerard Bonamarte, Franklin Township.

Kristen Marie Marks, Jeremy T. Glaush, Mark A. Sverchek and Michael J. Hopstock, Lehighton Borough.

Doyle Heffley and Kellie M. Heffley, Lower Towamensing Township.

Larry K. Heffley, David W. Yeakel and Wallace Putkowski, Mahoning Township.

Lamont C. Musselman, Palmerton.

Janet Nelson and James Nelson, Penn Forest Township.

Sandra Dellicker, Summit Hill.