Lansford Borough government has a few new faces in key positions for 2014.

One of those new faces is Mayor James Romankow, who presided over the initial phase of Monday's council reorganizational meeting held at Lansford Borough Hall, 1 W. Ridge St.

Romankow called for nominations for president and new names emerged.

Newcomer Martin Ditsky was voted into the top slot, replacing outgoing president Rose Mary Cannon who will remain on board. Member Colin Jones, another newcomer and the top vote-getter in November's election, nominated Ditsky for the post.

Jones was then elected to the position of president pro-tempore after a nomination by Cannon.

Councilwoman Mary Soberick was elected vice-president. She, too, was nominated by Cannon.

One of the first orders of business under Ditsky was to appoint a borough solicitor. Cannon made a motion to reappoint Attorney Michael Greek, which carried by 3-2 vote. Soberick and member Tommy Vadyak opposed.

In another move, Keystone Engineering was appointed borough engineer. The board also approved a 2014 meeting schedule.

Discussion was peppered with comments regarding open seats council continues to deal with two vacant positions.

Councilman John Williams resigned from the board last year. Williams reportedly has chosen to serve with the school board. Additionally, member Andy Sndyer vacated his council position upon relocation to Texas.

Resident Joe Butrie was on hand to inquire about one of the vacancies. Butrie, who serves as president of the borough zoning board, had submitted a letter of interest but had not heard back. The board advised Butrie that the vacancy issue is presently under review by the court.

Council approved a resolution on wages for non-union borough employees.

The board expected to act on the committee meeting schedule and appointment of committees, however, the items were tabled until the next meeting after Soberick suggested it would make more sense for those members to decide meeting dates based on their own schedules.

The newly reorganized board will meet Wednesday at 6:30 p.m.