Thirty-two Carbon Career and Technical Institute students were among the 1,700 students across the state who participated in the DECA State Conference held this past week in Hershey.

Delta Epsilon Chi (DECA) is an international association of high school and college students studying marketing, management and entrepreneurship in business, finance, hospitality and marketing sales and service.

CCTI earned 37 medallions during the mini-awards ceremony. During the Grand Awards Ceremony, seven CCTI students were named state finalists. In addition to the competitive events winners, Melissa Rivera and Jalissa Kuehner both won PA DECA scholarships.

The CCTI DECA was also recognized for achieving "The Program of Work Campaign" and raising the most money for the "Make A Wish Foundation" from a technical school.

Collectively PA DECA donated $7,200 to the "Made A Wish Foundation."

The following students were state finalists and will represent CCTI at the International Conference in Anaheim, Calif. this April.

Attaining first place for Chapter Award was Megan Roseman and Ashley Pera, both of Jim Thorpe; and Jalissa Kuehner of Palmerton.

Kellyann Higgins of Palmerton and Ashley McLaughlin of Panther Valley received fourth place in Entrepreneurship Innovation Plan Research Event.

Jake Evans and Austin Papay, both of Palmerton, received a sixth place for Sports and Entertainment Operations Research Event.

Ashley Pera of Jim Thorpe received two medallions for Quick Serve Restaurant Management.

Lauren Tompkins of Jim Thorpe received on medallion for Restaurant and Food Service Management.

Larry Carr of Jim Thorpe received two medallions for Marketing Management.

Brook Dunbar of Lehighton received two medallions and Brittany Paules of Panther Valley received one medallion, bot for Automotive Service Marketing.

Shelby Casey of Palmerton received three medallions for Business Services Marketing.

Kelsey Onchek of Palmerton, three medallions; Sandra Smith of Jim Thorpe, two medallions; and Alexis Young of Jim Thorpe, two medallions, each in Retail Mechandising.

Cheyenne Tilley of Palmerton received two medallions; and Melissa Macaluso of Jim Thorpe, both for Food Marketing.

Katrina Kattner of Jim Thorpe, one medallion; and Gabby Achtermann of Lehighton, one medallion, in Principal of Business Administration.

Kayla Hockenbury of Jim Thorpe, three medallions in Principal of Finance.

Spencer Moyer of Palmerton, one medallion, in Principles of Marketing.

Cheyenne McKinley of Palmerton, two medallions and Tyler Frable, Palmerton, two medallions, Hospitality and Tourism Team Decision Making Event.

Melissa Rivera of Jim Thorpe, three medallions; and Austin Rabenold of Palmerton, two medallions; Hotel and Lodging Management.