With the end of the 2012-2013 school year, Mahoning Elementary School recently held its annual awards program.

Assisted by faculty and staff, Principal Aaron Sebelin presented the awards.

The following students achieved perfect attendance for the 2012-2013 school year:

Kindergarten - Joseph Houser

Grade 2 - Layla Kunkle and Cheyann Marx

Grade 3 - Richard Houser, Alyssa Myers, Dylan Wallace, and Kenneth Wallace

Grade 4 - Kye Weidensaul

Students who were tardy four or more times were not be eligible for perfect attendance.

President's Award for Outstanding Academic Excellence is awarded to fourth grade students who have received a score in the advanced levels on both reading and math on their third grade Pennsylvania System of School Assessment (PSSA) tests. The recipients each received a certificate signed by President Barack Obama and a lapel pin.

The students who received this recognition are Elijah House, Chance Neeb, and Roger Pomposello, Jr.

President's Award for Outstanding Academic Achievement is awarded to recognize students who show outstanding educational growth, improvement, commitment or intellectual development in their academic subjects.

The students who received this recognition are Megan Dubble; Christopher Fisher; John Hendricks; Zachary Hunsicker; Mazzy Mickey; Jacob Neeb; Kendra Peterman; Sophia Salerno; Accaylia Schaeffer; Tori Sullivan; and Kye Weidensaul.

Senator David Argall Good Citizenship Award was presented to Christopher Fisher and Jacob Neeb.

Envirothon Awards were presented Montana Confer; Andrew Conrad; Trey Gower; Maya Hutton; Logan Kester; Alyssa Myers; Dylan Wallace; and Kenneth Wallace.

As the students prepare to "move up" from the elementary school to Lehighton Area Middle School next year, Sebelin remarked, "This group of fourth grade students at Mahoning is unique in that they only had one classroom this year. They are a very tight knit class."

"I know they are going to go on to the middle school and have an outstanding educational experience. They are all well-prepared for what is ahead of them," said Sebelin concerning the Class of 2021. "I'm proud of their accomplishments and to have spent the last few years watching them grow."