For the 18th year, Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 256 has presented a Firefighter of the Year award to an outstanding volunteer firefighter at Lehighton Fire Company.

On Monday night, Joseph Flickinger, who has been a member of Lehighton Fire Company for the past 12 years, was named the 2012 Firefighter of the Year.

Presenting the award was Harry Wynn III and Fred Schaffer, representatives of the VFW Post.

Flickinger was selected by his peers for the honor.

The award was inscribed with the following message: "In special recognition and highest praise for alertness, personal courage and ever vigilant guardianship of life and property."

In addition, Wynn said Flickinger was also the recipient of the first American Legion Firefighters Certificate by Shoemaker-Haydt Post 314.

"This certificate commends you for outstanding public service to our nation, state and community," said Wynn.

"I couldn't do this without the support and dedication of the officers," Flickinger said. "It's their hard work which provides the training and support. I couldn't do it without them."

Wynn said that Lehighton Borough should be proud of the dedication and service offered by the Lehighton Fire Department.

Firefighters who received the award in past years are: Larry Diehl, Rodney Rehnert, Gary Frable, Michael Mriss, Wayne E. Nothstein, Dave Oswald, Jim Hauser, Paul Mriss, Steve Ebbert, Chris Ritter, Scott Nothstein, Patrick Mriss, John Kuller, Martin Spezialetti and Justin Klotz.