Dedication of the Lehighton police station will occur at 10 a.m. Friday.

The station, located in Station 2 of the Lehighton Fire Department at 124 S. Third St., is being dedicated to the memory of the late Wilbur "Cap" Bauchspies.

Bauchspies served as mayor in the borough for 28 years beginning in 1969. He died May 13, 2009 at the age of 81. At the time of his death, he was a member of Lehighton Borough Council. His widow, Bessie Bauchspies, presently serves on the borough council.

Bauchspies will be honored for his 40 years of service as a mayor and council member during the dedication program. Among the speakers at the dedication will be former Speaker of the House of Representatives Keith McCall, who was instrumental in obtaining funding for the construction of the station.

Also present will be state Rep. Doyle Heffley, state Sen. John Yudichak, Lehighton Mayor Donald Rehrig, and members of Lehighton Borough Council.

Borough manager Nicole Beckett said the borough was able to relocate the police department to the present location thanks to a $300,000 grant from the Pa. Department of Community and Economic Development.

Police moved into the headquarters in June 2011.

Prior to this, the police had been located for more than 75 years in the Lehighton Municipal Building.