Summit Hill

Food pantry news

The Summit Hill Food Pantry, headquartered in the Summit Hill Heritage Center building, Hazard and Chestnut streets, has announced details of its program for 2012.

The pantry will make distributions of non-perishable food items to persons in town who qualify for the assistance on a monthly basis.

The distributions will take place from 10 a.m. to noon on the fourth Tuesdays of each month, with the exceptions of November and December due to holidays in those months.

In each instance, the doors of the pantry will close promptly at 12:15 p.m.

Beginning this month, persons who have been receiving the food "boxes" are asked to note no telephone call reminders will be made. In the event there is a change in pantry hours due to snowstorms. etc., the recipients will be notified by telephone.

Rosemarie Armon, pantry director, is maintaining an up-to-date roster with telephone numbers of regular recipients. Anyone whose contact information changes is required to notify her of that information.

The schedule for 2012 is as follows: Tuesday, Jan. 24; Tuesday, Feb. 28; Tuesday, March 27 (this will be the regular Easter order); Tuesday, April 24; Tuesday, May 22; Tuesday, June 26; Tuesday, July 24; Tuesday, Aug. 28; Tuesday, Sept. 25; Tuesday, Oct. 23; Monday, Nov. 19 (third Monday of the month); and Tuesday, Dec. 18 (third Tuesday of the month).