Lehighton Borough Council held a special reorganization meeting on Tuesday evening at the municipal building.

Mayor Donald Rehrig welcomed borough council members, telling them, "We all need to work together to help make this town a better place for our residents and businesses."

He also praised the Lehighton Downtown Initiative Committee for its help in working to rejuvenate the downtown district.

Mayor Rehrig officially swore into office council members Darryl Arner, Bessie Bauchspies, John Bird, John Kreitz, and Scott Rehrig. Grant Hunsicker was officially sworn into office on Tuesday morning during a ceremony held at the Carbon County Courthouse.

Mayor Rehrig continued chairing the meeting as Grant Hunsicker and Scott Rehrig were re-elected council president and vice president, respectively.

Hunsicker then took over chairing the meeting. His first order of business was to announce the vacancy of a two-year position on borough council. Since Hunsicker won both a two-year term and a four-year term in the November 2011 election, he declined the two-year position and announced the vacancy. Borough council has 30 days to fill the seat.

The council officially made the following appointments and reappointments:

Ÿ Nicole Beckett, borough manager; Brenda Koons, borough secretary; Kira Michalik, treasurer/assistant secretary; Kim Rubin, assistant secretary/treasurer.

Ÿ Bruce Steigerwalt, engineer; James R. Nanovic, Esq., solicitor; Mary Strohl, tax collector for 511 Taxes; CENTAX, Tax Collector for Earned Income Tax; Carl Faust, Interim Building Code Official; Steve Schickram, zoning/code enforcement officer; Felicia Pilla, health officer.

Ÿ Gary Frable, fire chief; Patrick Mriss, assistant fire chief; and Neal Ebbert, police chief.

The following additional appointments were also made: Daniel Murray, vacancy board chairman; Bessie Bauchspies, Lehigh Canal Recreation Commission; Darryl Arner and Bessie Bauchspies, Library Board; Scott Rehrig, council representative to the Police Pension Committee; John Kreitz and John Bird, delegate and alternate delegate to the Carbon County Tax Collection Committee, respectively; and Bessie Bauchspies, council representative to the Central Carbon Municipal Authority.

The next meeting of Lehighton Borough Council is scheduled for Monday, Jan. 23 at 7:30 p.m. at the municipal building.