The Tamaqua Area School District announced Tuesday that it will do a 180-degree turn in how the district handles photo consent agreements pertaining to images taken of students within the district.

"The biggest change is that you need to sign the release to permit the photograph," said attorney Jeff Bowe, solicitor.

Discussion about the new approach to the photo release policy highlighted the regular monthly meeting of the board of education held in the all-purpose room at Tamaqua Area Middle School.

Beginning with the new school year, parents will receive the consent form from the district and that form must be signed by a parent or guardian to allow a student to be photographed at or for school events.

In the past, the form was required only from those parents who chose not to allow their child to be photographed.

"We want to protect the district," explained Superintendent Carol Makuta, adding that Bowe has been working with the Pennsylvania School Board Association to update photo release information.

The new form is more than a simple paragraph, prompting board President Larry Wittig to wonder aloud how it'll be received by those at home.

"If I'm a parent, am I going to read this whole thing," Wittig questioned.

Makuta said the form will provide an important service.

"We want parents to know who is taking a picture and how it'll be used," she said. "We will generate a list of students who cannot be photographed."

In other matters, the board, as expected, approved the establishment of the Tamaqua Area Booster Board for the purpose of satisfying the annual requirement for application of a small games of chance license.

The board accepted the resignation of Emily Daubert, high school teacher, effective Aug. 22 and recalled Joshua Shilko from the furlough pool. The board also acknowledged the resignation of Cheryl Kabana as part-time paraprofessional effective Aug. 13.

It was announced that Abigail Neverosky and Dylan M. Peters have successfully completed three years of service with satisfactory rating and will be given professional status as of Aug. 22.

Amy Pester Ansbach was granted a leave of absence from Aug. 22, 2012, to Jan. 26, 2013.

James McCabe was appointed mentor for Laura Makuta, family and consumer science teacher, at the established stipend of $600. Also, Marietta Koch was appointed mentor for Erin Schmitt, business education.

Additions to the substitute teacher list include: Thomas Ferrence, Nesquehoning; Tyler Graffius, Bernville; Frank Greco, Drums; Nathan Halenar, Summit Hill; Lauren Jones, Sugarloaf; Stephanie Kalenkoski, Shenandoah; Debra Lakotosh, Fogelsville; Sarah Miller, Lehighton; Shana O'Gurek, New Ringgold; Geoffrey Perkowski, Ebervale; Bethany Pisulak, Lehighton; Christina Phillips, Scranton; Cody Sassaman, Tamaqua; Gwen Sites, Schuylkill Haven; Regina Smith, Freeland; Phillip Strubinger, Jim Thorpe; Joanie Thomas, Pottsville; and Linda Wiest, Frackville.

Additions to the substitute guest teacher list are: Donna Brenneman, Pottsville; Nora Coyne-Cordero, Ashland; Dusk Drey, Schuylkill Haven; Nancy Grosser, Barnesville; Stacey Lipton, Pottsville; Megan Miller, Frackville; Robert Ondisco, Schuylkill Haven; Don Ressler, New Ringgold; Lora Shuliga, Hamburg; Diana Smulktis, Pottsville and Nick Sura, Larksville.

Added to the part-time paraprofessional list are: Donna Boyea, Andreas; Gail Sacelaris, Lehighton and Olga Williams, Tamaqua.

Additions to the substitute paraprofessional list are: Katheryn Labosky, Lansford, and Kathleen Mikruk, Nesquehoning.