The Tamaqua High School Class of 1961 celebrated its golden anniversary with activities recently. The 50th anniversary reunion was held Aug. 6 at Genetti's Banquet Hall, Hazleton. The welcoming address and invocation were offered by Bobbie Parfitt Coccio. In addition to a cocktail hour and dinner, DJ Juice provided music for dancing.

A candlelight ceremony was held in remembrance of 21 deceased class members, including Nancy Lee Billman, Alice Mary Bobarsky, Pamela Davis, J. Peter Ehrig, Russell Eltringham, Eileen Geiger, Sharon Krell, George Lutz, Ann Louise Sittler, Beverly Rarick, Harry Adams, Lois Houser, Leonard Yushko, Clarissa Trout, Gerie Tarsavage, Shirley Houser, Fred Uhrie, Bill Klingaman, Diana Derr, Richard Ghares and Paul McDonald.

The ceremony was conducted by Ann Neifert Kline and President Coccio.

In addition to classmates from Pennsylvania, participants traveled from Maryland, Missouri, Ohio, Florida, North Carolina and Idaho. The reunion committee was composed of Ann Kline, Bobbie Coccio, Nancy Pluto Moser, Dave Schock, Barbara Carr Scott, Carol Schuetrumpf and Ruth Miller Schwoyer.

An Aug. 5 pre-reunion event was attended by 30 class members and their spouses.