Get ready to cut footloose this weekend during the Lehighton Area High School Drama Club's annual Spring Musical. This year's musical will be "Back to the 80's… the Totally Awesome Musical!" written by Neil Gooding.

"Back to the 80's…" follows 17-year-old Corey Palmer's journey through his senior year at William Ocean High School as remembered by Corey, now a 30-something man.

Back in high school, Corey (played by Kirk Arner) was in love with one of the coolest girls in school, his neighbor Tiffany Houston (Dacin Kemmerer). Join him as he watches the girl of his dreams fall for the best-looking guy in school, Michael Feldman (Marcus Kunkle). Things get complicated when Michael begins sending fake love letters to the new girl in school, Eileen Regan (Jade Leitzel). Will Corey ever get his girl, or will Michael go to prom with Tiffany? Will Eileen ever make friends at her new school?

At the same time, the teachers at William Ocean are having their own problems. Math teacher Mr. Cocker (Noah Smith) has been in a relationship for two years with conservative English teacher Ms. Brannigan (Vanessa Hyska) - but when he confiscates an old edition of Penthouse from a student, he discovers that his girlfriend is the centerfold. Can their relationship survive?

This storyline is wrapped around two dozen popular 80's tunes including "Centerfold," "Material Girl," "Girls Just Want to Have Fun," "Love Shack," "(I've Had) The Time of My Life," and "Footloose." Also be on the lookout for Rubik's Cube, The Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, disco balls and shades during this fun look back at the 1980's.

"Back to the 80's… the Totally Awesome Musical!" will be performed by the Drama Club on Friday, March 26 and Saturday, March 27 at 7:30 p.m. in the Lehighton High School Auditorium. Theater doors will open 30 minutes before show time.

Admission is $8 for adults and $6 for students and seniors. Children ages 3 and under are free.

Major characters and soloists are Kirk Arner (Corey Palmer), Arthur Terembula (Alf Bueller), Dacin Kemmerer (Tiffany Houston), Cyndi Gibson (Lauren Jankowski), Alexis Gerber (Mel Easton), Kaitlyn Piekarski (Kim Easton), Marcus Kunkle (Michael Feldman), Michael Warkala (Billy Arnold), Briar Stern (Huey Jackson), Evy Heckman (Feargal McFerrin), Jade Leitzel (Eileen Reagan), Kara Beck (Laura Wilde), Brianna Oswald (Debbie Fox), Vanessa Hyska (Ms. Sheena Brannigan), and Noah Smith (Mr. Stevie Cocker).

Chorus members include Kristen Campbell, Teah Garrison, Tiffany Haydt, Elizabeth James, Elyse Kistler, Stevi Lenahan, Kaley Miller, Jordyn Miller, Sarah Nanovic, Kelcie Smith, Andrea Steward, Alex Tokarczk, and Erica Wenrich.