The Tamaqua High School Class of 1959 celebrated its 50th anniversary on Sept. 12 at Lobitz's Fountain Room in Hazleton. Festivities began with a cocktail hour and included dinner and dancing. Music was provided by Tunes DJ Entertainment.

The welcoming address was offered by Chloe Andrukitis Gayda, followed by the singing of the school Alma Mater and class song led by Janice Wetterau Zlock and Anita Hope Maier. Zlock offered the invocation and a toast was made by James Boyle.

A candlelight ceremony, conducted by Frances Epler Zukovich and Robert Deifenderfer, was held in tribute to the 24 deceased class members and one teacher, including Richard Hower, Steve Sheeler, Chauncey Zeigler, Alice Sterner Langton, Robert James, William Bynon, Thomas Ambrose, Anthony Dunn, Calvin Lindeman, James Wasson, George Willing, William Kane, Edward Zukovich, Joan Frey Springer, Eugene Fritz, Bernice Deiter Filliash, Carolyn Fethers Finley, Russel Finley, Sally Heyman O'Hearn, Harry Zimmerman, George Vavro, Eugene Moerder, Carol Goepfert Herbine, Gloria Davies Carvalho and Mary Brewer Etchison, teacher and class adviser.

Class members traveled from Maryland, Georgia, Florida, Delaware, Virginia, Texas and California. Several prizes were awarded.

The reunion committee was composed of Gayda, Zukovich, Zlock and Deifenderfer. The class agreed to hold a reunion picnic on June 26, 2010, and a full scale reunion in 2014.